

PAST 'LACONIA NATIONAL' WINNERS RETURN



Many of the past "Laconia National" race winners are slated to return for a reunion at the FIM North American Vintage Road Race Championships at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway on June 8 and 9. Laconia Motorcycle week is celebrating its 90 year and along with that it is he 50th year since the "Laconia National" has been held at the old Belknap Recreational area. The last race in 1963 at the old track was won by a young Jodi Nicholas from

Tennessee on a BSA Goldstar. Several of the old "Laconia" winners went on to make their mark in other forms of motor sports competition from stock cars, Joe Weatherly to Indianapolis racing, Joe Leonard.



Ed Fischer who won the race on a Triumph in 1953 will celebrate his 60th anniversary since that victory. Ed states that he will bring one of his old Triumphs to do a few laps. In the early planning stages now, there should be a good number of the past winners in attendance at the June 8,9 event.

Ed Fisher with his wife and son at the Laconia 100 miler, 1953

The following is a list of the previous winners.

Held at Belknap Recreation Area in Gilford near Laconia, New Hampshire as part of the Gypsy Tour

Race over 100 miles on 1-mile course (except 1938: 200 miles) / aka Laconia 100

1938: Ed Kretz (Indian) (race over 200 miles)

1939: Charles Daniels (Harley-

Davidson)

1940: Babe Tancrede (Harley-

Davidson)

1941: June McCall (Harley-Davidson)

1942-1945: no races 1946: Ed Kretz (Indian)

1947: Alli Quattrocchi (Harley-

Davidson)

1948: Joe Weatherly (Harley-

Davidson)

1949: Joe Weatherly (Harley-

Davidson)

1950: Bill Miller (Harley-Davidson)

1951: Dick Klamfoth (Norton)

1952: Dick Klamfoth (Norton)

1953: Eddie Fischer (Triumph)

1954: Joe Leonard (Harley-Davidson)

1955: Brad Andres (Harley-Davidson)

1956: Brad Andres (Harley-Davidson)

1957: Joe Leonard (Harley-Davidson)

1958: Brad Andres (Harley-Davidson)

1959: Brad Andres (Harley-Davidson)

1960: Dick Mann (BSA)

1961: Joe Leonard (Harley-Davidson)

1962: Dick Mann (Matchless)

1963: Jody Nicholas (BSA)

no race in 1964

Race now known as Loudon Classic

(aka Loudon 100)

Shortened to 75 miles as of 1973 / not

held in 1975

1965: Ralph White (Matchless)

1966: Buddy Elmore (Triumph)

1967: Gary Nixon (Triumph)

1968: Cal Rayborn (Harley-Davidson)

1969: Fred Nix (Harley-Davidson)

1970: Gary Nixon (Triumph)

1971: Mark Brelsford (Harley-

Davidson)

1972: Gary Fisher (Yamaha)

1973: Gary Nixon (Kawasaki)

1974: Gary Nixon (Suzuki)

1976: Steve Baker (Yamaha)

1977: Kenny Roberts (Yamaha)

1978: Skip Aksland – (Yamaha)

1979: Skip Aksland – (Yamaha)

1980: Rich Sclachter – (Yamaha)

1981: Nick Richichi – (Yamaha)

1982: Mike Baldwin – (Honda)

1983: Mike Baldwin – (Honda)

1984: Mike Baldwin – (Honda)

